Mid-Atlantic Strategic Plan to Reduce Equine Fatalities

The Mid-Atlantic Strategic Plan to Reduce Equine Fatalities, adopted in March of 2019, is the product of a collaboration of the region’s racetrack operators, horsemen’s organizations, breeders’ organizations, racing commissions and regulatory and racetrack veterinarians. Many phases of the plan stem from the 2012 New York Task Force Report on Race Horse Health and Safety and are already in practice.

The Plan incorporates five key goals, including the establishment of regional safety best practices, improved methods to identify horses at increased risk of injury, the implementation of protective factors to reduce the risk of injury, information sharing and communication, and improvement of the general health and welfare of the horse.

Click here for the Mid-Atlantic Strategic Plan to Reduce Equine Fatalities.

The coalition has identified 25 key areas as the initial focus of the Plan’s Best Practices that ensure every stakeholder plays a part: horsemen, jockeys, track and attending veterinarians, racing officials and racing office personnel, track superintendents, racetrack operators and regulators alike. Each Best Practice is reviewed and approved by committee prior to being adopted by the coalition, and each is a living document that can be refined to make it better over time.

Click here for the Strategic Plan Best Practices Manual

The Mid-Atlantic stakeholders and regulators who have committed to the Strategic Plan include Delaware Park, DTHA, Delaware Racing Commission, Maryland Jockey Club, Maryland State Fair (Timonium), MTHA, Maryland Racing Commission, Maryland Horse Breeders Association, Monmouth Park, NJTHA, New Jersey Racing Commission, New Jersey Thoroughbred Breeders Association, Finger Lakes Racetrack, NYRA, Finger Lakes HBPA, NYTHA, New York State Gaming Commission, New York Thoroughbred Breeders Inc., Penn National Gaming, Parx Racing, Presque Isle Downs, PTHA, Pennsylvania HBPA, Pennsylvania Horse Racing Commission, Pennsylvania Horse Breeders Association, Colonial Downs, Virginia Racing Commission, Charles Town, Mountaineer Park, Charles Town HBPA, Mountaineer HBPA, West Virginia Racing Commission, and National Steeplechase Association.

Administrative Committee:
Dr. Kathy Anderson
Andy Belfiore
Tom Chuckas
Alan Foreman
Mike Hopkins
David Lermond
Joe Moore
Judith Nason
Ronald Ochrym
Duncan Patterson
Dr. Scott Palmer

Aftercare Committee:
Andy Belfiore
Maria Catignani
Anna Ford
Jessica Hammond
Julie Kisielewski
Lisa Molloy
Danielle Montgomery
Richard Schosberg
Jana Tetrault

Communications Committee:
Andy Belfiore
David Hayden
Tom LaMarra
David Richardson
Jana Tetrault

Racing Office Committee:
Allison De Luca
John Heims
Fred Hutton
Eric Johnston
Charlie McIntosh
Chris Merz
John Mooney
David Osojnak
Sal Sinatra

Racing Surfaces:
(Jointly w/NTRA)
Matt Iuliano
Glen Kozak
Dennis Moore
Jim Pendergest
Dr. Mick Peterson

Regulatory Veterinary Committee
Dr. Susan Botts
Dr. Ada Caruthers
Dr. Reynolds Cowles
Dr. Elizabeth Daniels
Dr. Francis Daniel
Dr. Scott Palmer
Dr. Kathleen Picciano
Dr. Anthony Verderosa

Related News