Maryland THA

A non-profit organization dedicated to the improvement of Thoroughbred racing in Maryland.

mthaThe Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen’s represents, assists and promotes the interests of owners and trainers at Laurel Park, Pimlico Race Course, and the Maryland State Fair at Timonium.

Free membership in the MTHA is automatically extended to everyone licensed to own and/or train Thoroughbred racehorses in the state. MTHA activities and services are supported by a deduction of 2% off the top of purses at Maryland’s three Thoroughbred racetracks.

The MTHA has a 15-member board of directors comprised of seven owners, seven trainers and one at-large member who can be either an owner or trainer. Elections for directors and officers are held once every three years.

Six standing committees carry out the primary functions of the MTHA: Backstretch and Safety; Finance, Health and Welfare; Legislative; Purse; and Oversight. Additional special committees are formed when a need arises.


David G. Richardson, Executive Director
Rosemary D. Lishia, Director Of Finance
Diana G. Pinones, Racetrack Representative
Jessica Hammond,  Counseling and Benevolence
Tom LaMarra, Communications and Backstretch Services
Dan Mangum, Recreation Director


Timothy L. Keefe, President

A. Ferris Allen
Dale Capuano
Linda S. Gaudet
JoAnn Hayden
Michael F. Horning
R. Larry Johnson
Mark Lapidus
Robert T. Manfuso
Hugh McMahon
Graham Motion
Charles J. “Chip” Reed
Philip B. Schoenthal
Michael J. Trombetta
Katherine M. Voss




Mailing Address: 500 Redland Court, Suite 105, Owings Mills, MD 21117
Phone: (410) 902-6842
Fax: (410) 902-6841


Related News